Skip to content

Moving, Productivity and Coffee Shops

October 6, 2009

I am going to start using my other blog www.StephWoodsSEO.com . Finally.

I am hoping I will be more active there than I have been here. My intentions were good. My performance has been less than stellar.

I'd like to thank the Associated Press, my wonderful Twitter friends ...

I'd like to thank the Associated Press, my wonderful Twitter friends ...

It’s time for my writing slackness to come to an end.

I am starting a bi-weekly SEO 101 series on SEO Scoop. As far as I know my first post will go live tomorrow (October 7, 2009), but I have not received final confirmation on that yet. I will be sure to post a link here when it is up on the site.

Good Habits = More Writing

I am keeping my fingers crossed that once I get in the habit of writing posts, I won’t be able to stop.

I have realized I can not work from home anymore. I found that I was: (a) not getting anything done to get my business going, and (b) ridonkerously frustrated that I wasn’t getting anything done. Gee. Only took me 8 months to figure that one out. Way to go Einstein.

In any case, there will be no more working from home (as great as it sounds). Eight months later with minimal progress has taught me a lesson the hard way. There are waaaay too many things at home to be distracted by: roommates, cats, friends popping by, dirty surfaces, sunny days etc …

It’s different when I have client work to do, because it needs to get done. But when it comes to doing my own stuff … which includes finding new clients … I am a bit slack. I shouldn’t probably admit this. But I am. Important Note: I must reiterate that I have nooooo problems whatsoever getting client work done on time!

Without the pressure of a deadline I fail.

Or maybe not. I am hoping to change all of that by working from the library or a coffee shop. Heck, I am working from my boyfriend’s right now and that seems to be working because I have nothing here to get distracted by!

When sitting at a coffee shop I feel like I am there for a purpose and it changes something in my brain. A little switch goes off that says “let’s get serious bitches”. Then my fingers start to mambo with the keyboard. Funny how that works.

If you decide to work from home, try working in a variety of places to see which works best for you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 7:22 am

    working from home is the best job that you can get, you will always find comfort in your home while working *.”

    • December 2, 2010 5:59 pm

      This is true! You can also find lots of things to be distracted by. :)

  2. December 2, 2010 5:50 pm

    I really need to get into the habit of staying up on my writing. I can write no more than 2 blogs a week, then rest i have to outsource. Let me know if you are interested on working on a project Stephanie… We talked a while back about it, but lost touch.

    • December 2, 2010 5:56 pm

      I hear ya. Two posts a week is good! I haven’t been writing nearly as much as I’d like to. Just super busy with work so it’s tough to find the time.

      Remind me again what we were talking about! Did you have a different website then?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

